Seven Deadly Sins

The Seven Deadly Sins never appear as a formal list in the Bible. Actually, the earliest inventory dates back to a century before the birth of Christ. Over the years, the list has been revised, but since the Middle Ages we have recognized the great sins to be Pride, Greed, Lust, Envy, Gluttony, Anger and Sloth. These transgressions are made by the diversity of times and places in which they have been condemned and with their capacity to destroy every aspect of individual and social life.

It’s not easy to find a conceptual system of the spirit of human nature nowadays. It must be complex and inclusive to name the range of disgusting behavior, as well as being simple and memorable. In the world of eternal choice it gets even more difficult.
What’s easier than finding only the wicked human passions, which fit well with the fallen human’s tendency to sin? If the sins are so heavily rooted in the behaviour of our species then are they truly authentic characteristics of humankind?
Many photography theoreticians compare photography to the relic and claim that it has peculiar ‘structure of redemption’, which is inscribed within the act of photographing. Thus, all that has been remembered enters the sacrum domain. Following this way of thinking, is it blasphemous to take pictures of sin?

Click on the photos below to see them in their full glory


Picture 1 of 7


This article was posted in Authenticity and tagged .

Comments are closed.

^ top